HomeBusinessCongress releases first list of 86 candidates for Punjab polls; Channi to...

Congress releases first list of 86 candidates for Punjab polls; Channi to contest from Chamkaur Sahib

The Congress on Saturday launched its first list of 86 candidates for the upcoming meeting elections in Punjab, fielding Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib and PCC chief Navjot Singh Sidhu from Amritsar East. The get together has additionally fielded Punjab deputy chief ministers — Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak and Om Prakash Soni from Amritsar Central, the seats they already signify.

Controversial Punjabi singer Sidhu Mussewala, who joined the Congress someday in the past will contest from Mansa and actor Sonu Sood’s sister Malvika Sood from Moga.

Party’s Rajya Sabha MP Pratap Singh Bajwa will contest from Qadian meeting seat in Gurdaspur.

Former PCC president and marketing campaign committee chief Sunil Jakhar won’t contest the meeting polls and his nephew Sandeep Jakhar will contest the Abohar meeting seat as an alternative.

Similarly, Punjab minister Brahm Mohindra won’t contest and his son Mohit Mohindra will contest from Patiala rural meeting seat in his place.

Among different sitting Punjab ministers, Manpreet Singh Badal will contest from Bathinda Urban, Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, Razia Sultana from Malerkotla, Gurkirat Singh Kotli from Khanna, Rana Gurjit Singh from Kapurthala, Tript Rajinder Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian, Randeep Singh Nabha from Amloh, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, Pargat Singh from Jalandhar Cantt.

Other ministers like Sangat Singh Gilzian has been fielded from Urmar, Raj Kumar Verka from Amritsar West-SC, Sukhbinder Sarkaria from Rajasansi, Bharat Bhushan Ashu from Ludhiana West.

Former deputy chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal has been fielded from Lehragaga.

The list was launched after the get together’s central election committee chaired by get together chief Sonia Gandhi cleared the names in its assembly held on Thursday.

Punjab assembly elections are slated in a single part on February 14 and the outcomes will likely be out on March 10.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular