HomeBusinessUtpal Parrikar news: Goa polls: Utpal Parrikar not in BJP's list of...

Utpal Parrikar news: Goa polls: Utpal Parrikar not in BJP’s list of 34 candidates; party says he was given options that he didn’t accept

The identify of Utpal Parrikar, son of former Goa chief minister late Manohar Parrikar, did not determine in the BJP‘s list of 34 candidates that it introduced on Thursday for the upcoming state meeting polls, though he had sought party’s candidature from the Panaji constituency. The party stated that though Utpal Parrikar was given 4 different options, he did not accept any of them.

Of the 34 nominees of the BJP, 16 are those that are at present not half of the ruling party’s legislative wing.

The BJP introduced the list of candidates in Delhi for the February 14 Goa assembly elections, as per which Chief Minister Pramod Sawant will once more be the party’s candidate from Sanquelim constituency.

While refusing to offer a ticket to Utpal Parrikar from the Panaji constituency, which his father had represented for over 20 years, the BJP nominated from that seat party’s sitting MLA Atanasio Monserrate, one of the ten legislators, who had joined the saffron party in July 2019 after quitting the Congress.

BJP’s Goa election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis stated that Utpal Parrikar is a component of the BJP household and was given 4 different options (aside from Panaji seat), which he did not accept. Fadnavis, nevertheless, did not specify the options.

Sitting Goa ministers Deepak Pauskar (Sanvordem) and Philip Neri Rodrigues (Velim) and MLA Isidore (*34*) (Canacona) additionally did not determine in the list of candidates. Pauskar was caught in an issue after Monserratte accused him of promoting out jobs in his Public Works Department (PWD).

The party has withheld the names of candidates for six meeting constituencies – Cumbharjua, Bicholim, Curtorim, St Cruz, Calangute and Cortalim.

Interestingly, Monserrate and his spouse Jeniffer, who’s IT Minister in the Pramod Sawant-led cupboard at current, and Vishwajit Rane, who’s Health Minister, and his spouse Divya Rane, a brand new face, are the 2 husband-wife duos who’ve been nominated by the party. They are the one two girls candidates, which determine in the primary list of the party.

Deputy Chief Minister Manohar Ajgaonkar, who was elected from Pernem meeting phase in 2017 on the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) ticket earlier than shifting to the BJP in July 2019 has been given ticket from Margao constituency.

Ajgaonkar could be pitted towards Congress’ Digambar Kamat, who’s at present the chief of Opposition.

Elections for the 40-member Goa Assembly can be held in single part on February 14.

With the entry of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Trinamool Congress (TMC) in the ballot area, the election is predicted to be a multi-cornered one this time.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular