HomeBusinessUttarakhand assembly polls: Congress releases first list of 53 candidates

Uttarakhand assembly polls: Congress releases first list of 53 candidates

The Congress on Saturday launched its first list of 53 candidates for the Uttarakhand assembly elections.

Uttarakhand Congress president Ganesh Godiyal will contest from the Srinagar seat and Leader of Opposition within the outgoing assembly Pritam Singh from the Chakrata (ST) constituency.

The names of former chief minister Harish Rawat and Harak Singh Rawat, who joined the occasion solely on Friday, didn’t determine within the first candidate list of the occasion.

Harish Rawat had unsuccessfully contested the Haridwar-Rural and Kichcha assembly seats within the 2017 assembly polls.

Yashpal Arya, a former (*53*) within the state assembly, who had just lately joined the Congress after quitting the BJP, has been fielded from his Bajpur-SC constituency.

Arya’s son Sanjeev Arya has additionally been fielded from the Nainital (SC) assembly seat, which he give up after resigning from the BJP alongside along with his father.

Sumit Hridayesh, the son of senior Congress chief Indira Hridayesh who died in June final yr, has been fielded from Haldwani assembly seat.

Elections will probably be held for 70 assembly seats in Uttarakhand on February 14 and the outcomes will probably be declared on March 10.

The Congress is in search of to wrest energy again from the BJP within the hill state.

Manoj Rawat, the sitting MLA from Kedarnath assembly seat, has been fielded as soon as once more by the occasion.

Sitting MLA Mamta Rakesh has been fielded from her Bhagwanpur-SC assembly constituency.

The Congress has additionally fielded its sitting MLAs Furkan Ahmad from Pirankaliyar, Qazi Mohd Nizamuddin from Manglore, Karan Mahara from Ranikhet, Govind Singh Kunjwal from Jageshwar and Adesh Singh Chauhan from Jaspur.

Surendra Singh Negi, a former MLA from Kotdwar assembly seat, has been fielded as soon as once more from the seat. Negi has been a former minister within the state. Jeet Ram has been fielded from Tharali (SC) seat, which he misplaced within the 2017 polls.

Malchand, who misplaced the 2017 assembly polls on a BJP ticket, has been fielded by the Congress this time from the identical Purola (SC) seat.

Vijaypal Singh Sajwan, who had misplaced the Gangotri seat in 2017 assembly elections, has been fielded from the identical constituency this time.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular